Mayor's Arts Award for Theatre

Jan Hodgson (left) and Ruth Bruhn (right), Mayor's Arts Award for Theater honoree and emerging artist, respectively

2016 recipients

Jan Hodgson


Jan Hodgson is a theatre and dance stage manager who has travelled with productions that were created and developed out of Vancouver, her hometown. She was trained and mentored by actor Antony Holland in a program at Vancouver Community College that eventually became the renowned Studio 58.

Her incredible career fortune led her to stage managing for 17 years at the Vancouver Playhouse, being immersed in multimedia and site specific projects with Electric Company Theatre and spending glorious summers outdoors at the Caravan Farm Theatre. Her credits include pieces with Theatre Calgary, Kokoro Dance, Karen Jamieson Dance, Theatre Replacement, Catalyst Theatre, Arts Club Theatre, Citadel Theatre, Canadian Stage, Manitoba Theatre Centre, National Arts Centre, American Conservatory Theatre, Playwrights Theatre Centre, Judith Marcuse Projects, Centro Flamenco, Hard Rubber Orchestra/New Music Society, Modern Baroque Opera, Mascall Dance, Wild Excursions Performance and Dancing on The Edge.

Ruth Bruhn

Emerging artist

Ruth Bruhn is a local stage manager, design assistant and venue manager. Ruth graduated from the production program at Studio 58 where she was awarded the John F. Parker Scholarship for Theatre Arts for demonstrating exceptional promise. Since graduation she has been part of stage management teams across Vancouver including Gateway Theatre, Full Circle First Nations Performance, Neworld Theatre, Bard on the Beach (2015-2016), Carousel Theatre for Young People, and Theatre Replacement.

Ruth is excited to be returning to Theatre Replacement this December for her third season with the East Van Panto at the York Theatre. She will also be stage managing her first touring show this January with Green Thumb Theatre and their production of Alone Together.

Past recipients

Choose 'Show more' next to the year you want to view recipient details for.

2015 recipients

2014 recipients

2013 recipients

2012 recipients

2011 recipients

2010 recipients

2009 recipients

2008 recipient