From:	"Johnston, Sadhu" <sadhu.johnston@vancouver.ca></sadhu.johnston@vancouver.ca>
To:	"Direct to Mayor and Council - DL"
CC:	"City Manager's Correspondence Group - DL"
	"Foley, Sonja" <sonja.foley@vancouver.ca></sonja.foley@vancouver.ca>
	"Postma, Tobin" <tobin.postma@vancouver.ca></tobin.postma@vancouver.ca>
Date:	11/25/2019 6:25:08 PM
Subject:	Federal Government Cabinet Shuffle

Dear Mayor and Council,

The Federal Government announced its new cabinet last week that saw new posts to promote diversity, affordability and the middle class. The new 36-member cabinet has two more positions than before and sees many familiar faces around the table but with new titles, while several new members have been promoted to a minister role.

Of significance, Chrystia Freeland from foreign affairs has been named deputy prime minister and minister of intergovernmental affairs, a key leadership role to lead contentious relations with provinces, particularly those from the West. Francois-Philippe Champagne, previously minister of infrastructure, is taking over Freeland's previous portfolio as minister of foreign affairs. Catherine McKenna becomes minister of infrastructure and communities (previously environment and climate change) where she will continue to bring an environmental lens to green energy projects and transit expansion. Ahmed Hussen is the new minister for families, children, and social development (also responsible for CMHC). Patty Hajdu is the new minister of health. Being that affordability is the other key priority for Trudeau, a new post, minister of middle class prosperity and associate minister of finance is Mona Fortier. Similarly, Deb Schulte was named minister of seniors.

Overall in today's cabinet shuffle, 10 ministers remained in their jobs and seven are new cabinet members, with two of them newly elected and the rest reshuffled. Ministry of democratic reform was eliminated altogether. With 37 members in this cabinet, including Trudeau, it remains gender balanced. Of the 37 ministers, four are from B.C., four are from Atlantic Canada, one is from Manitoba and the rest are from Ontario and Quebec. The BC ministers are Joyce Murray, minister of digital government, Carla Qualtrough, minister of employment, workforce development and labour, Harjit Sajjan, minister of national defence, and Jonathan Wilkinson, minister of environment and climate change.

We look forward to advancing the City's priorities with the federal government and will provide you with a more robust update after the throne speech on December 5th, which will unveil the federal government's key priorities and next steps.

The full list of the members of the cabinet are:

- Chrystia Freeland becomes Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
- Anita Anand becomes Minister of Public Services and Procurement
- Navdeep Bains becomes Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry
- Carolyn Bennett remains Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations
- Marie-Claude Bibeau remains Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food
- Bill Blair becomes Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
- Bardish Chagger becomes Minister of Diversity and Inclusion and Youth
- François-Philippe Champagne becomes Minister of Foreign Affairs
- Jean-Yves Duclos becomes President of the Treasury Board
- Mona Fortier becomes Minister of Middle Class Prosperity and Associate Minister of Finance
- Marc Garneau remains Minister of Transport

- Karina Gould becomes Minister of International Development
- Steven Guilbeault becomes Minister of Canadian Heritage
- Patty Hajdu becomes Minister of Health
- Ahmed Hussen becomes Minister of Families, Children and Social Development
- Mélanie Joly becomes Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages
- Bernadette Jordan becomes Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard
- David Lametti remains Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada
- Dominic LeBlanc becomes President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada
- Diane Lebouthillier remains Minister of National Revenue
- Lawrence MacAulay remains Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence
- Catherine McKenna becomes Minister of Infrastructure and Communities
- Marco E.L. Mendicino becomes Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship
- Marc Miller becomes Minister of Indigenous Services
- Maryam Monsef becomes Minister for Women and Gender Equality and Rural Economic Development
- Bill Morneau remains Minister of Finance
- Joyce Murray becomes Minister of Digital Government
- Mary Ng becomes Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade
- Seamus O'Regan becomes Minister of Natural Resources
- Carla Qualtrough becomes Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion
- Pablo Rodriguez becomes Leader of the Government in the House of Commons
- Harjit Sajjan remains Minister of National Defence
- Deb Schulte becomes Minister of Seniors
- Filomena Tassi becomes Minister of Labour
- Dan Vandal becomes Minister of Northern Affairs
- Jonathan Wilkinson becomes Minister of Environment and Climate Change

Best,

Sadhu

Sadhu Aufochs Johnston | City Manager Office of the City Manager | City of Vancouver 604.873.7627 | sadhu.johnston@vancouver.ca

Pronouns: he, him, his



The City of Vancouver acknowledges that it is situated on the unceded traditional territories of the Musqueam, Squamish, and Tsleil-Waututh peoples.