From: <u>"Levitt, Karen" <karen.levitt@vancouver.ca></u>

To: "Direct to Mayor and Council

Date: 3/14/2025 8:58:38 AM

Subject: Swearing-in of New Prime Minister and Cabinet – March 2025

Dear Mayor and Council,

Today, Mark Carney was sworn-in as Canada's 24<sup>th</sup> Prime Minister. While Prime Minister Carney does not hold a seat in the House of Commons, he is expected to run in the next election, although he has yet to announce in which seat he will choose to run.

At the same time, a new Cabinet was sworn in, which will consist of 23 Ministers plus the Prime Minister:

- Dominic Leblanc (Béausejour): Minister of International Trade and Intergovernmental Affairs and President of the King's Privy Council of Canada
- François-Phillippe Champagne (Saint-Maurice-Champlain): Minister of Finance
- Anita Anand (Oakville): Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry
- Bill Blair (Scarborough Southwest): Minister of National Defense
- Patty Hajdu (Thunder Bay-Superior North): Minister of Indigenous Services
- Jonathan Wilkinson (North Vancouver): Minister of Energy and Natural Resources
- Ginette Petitpas Taylor (Moncton-Riverview-Dieppe): President of the Treasury Board
- Steven Guilbeault (Laurier-Sainte Marie): Minister of Canadian Culture and Identity, Parks Canada and Quebec Lieutenant
- Chrystia Freeland (University-Rosedale): Minister of Transport and Internal Trade
- Kamal Khera (Brampton West): Minister of Health

- Gary Anandasangaree (Scarborough-Rouge Park); Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada and Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs
- Rechie Valdez (Mississauga-Streetsville): Chief Government Whip
- Steve MacKinnon (Gatineau): Minister of Jobs and Families
- David J. McGuinty (Ottawa South): Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
- Terry Duguid (Winnipeg South): Minister of Environment and Climate Change
- Nate Erskine-Smith (Beaches-Eat York): Minister of Housing, Infrastructure Communities
- Rachel Bendayan (Outremont): Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship
- Élisabeth Brière (Sherbrooke): Minister of Veterans Affairs and Minister responsible for the Canada Revenue Agency
- Joanne Thompson (St. John's East): Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard
- Arielle Kayabaga (London West): Leader of the Government in the House of Commons and Minister of Democratic Institutions
- Kody Blois (Kings-Hants): Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food and Rural Economic Development
- Ali Ehsassi (Willowdale): Minister of Government Transformation, Public Services and Procurement

The Honourable Mélanie Joly (Ahuntsic-Cartierville), who is currently attending the G7 Foreign Ministers meeting in Quebec, will be sworn-in later today as Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Development.

This smaller Cabinet is meant to reflect Prime Minister Carney's focus on the U.S. tariff threat and the economy. The majority of Cabinet members are from Ontario (11) and Quebec (6). From Western Canada, there is one representative from British Columbia (the Honourable Jonathan Wilkinson) and one representative from Manitoba. Cabinet includes 13 men and 11 women.

The news release can be found here.

The full list of Cabinet Ministers can be found <u>here</u> .
Thanks,
Karen
Karen Levitt, Deputy City Manager karen.levitt@vancouver.ca

The City of Vancouver acknowledges that it is situated on the unceded traditional territories of the x m k y m/Musqueam, S wx\u817 \_wú7mesh/Squamish and s lilw ta /Tsleil-Waututh nations