Home > About Vancouver > All News > Exceptional citizens honoured at 2017 Vancouver Awards of Excellence

Exceptional citizens honoured at 2017 Vancouver Awards of Excellence

March 1 2017 Former Premier Mike Harcourt among those honoured after receiving the Freedom of the City Award

Seventeen exceptional citizens of Vancouver were honoured at the annual Awards of Excellence ceremony, a City of Vancouver program that acknowledges outstanding civic achievements made by individuals, organizations, and businesses.

These awards celebrated the accomplishments of the people and groups whose efforts make Vancouver excellent.

Among the recipients was former mayor of the City of Vancouver and premier of British Columbia, Mike Harcourt, who was awarded the Freedom of the City award, on behalf of Vancouver Mayor Gregor Robertson and City Council in recognition of his exemplary work as an activist, politician, and community builder.

"I'm honoured to recognize this year's Awards of Excellence recipients who have inspired a greener, healthier, more accessible and inclusive city," said Mayor Gregor Robertson. "All nominees have dedicated their time to public service and we are incredibly grateful for the vital role they play in making our city an exceptional place to live and work."

Nominations for five awards were open to everyone, from organizations making a difference in communities, tireless social leaders, and community groups building capacity, and enterprising youth and children. The sixth category, the Mayor's Achievement Award, is not open for public nominations and recipients are selected by Mayor Robertson.

Mayor Gregor Robertson and members of the Vancouver City Council were at the ceremony to present the awards.

Awards of Excellence winners

Civic Volunteer Award

  • Individual: Lorna Gibbs
  • Youth: Shawna Turai
  • Organization: Brock Fahrni Volunteer Team

Greenest City Leadership Award

  • Individual: Dr. Tara Moreau
  • Youth: Alvin Chan
  • Organization: Binners' Project - Tides Canada Initiatives

Healthy City for All Award

  • Individual: Dr. William (Bill) MacEwan
  • Youth: Vivian Tsang
  • Organization: Hastings Sunrise Community Policing Centre

Diversity and Inclusion Award

  • Individual: Zool Suleman
  • Organization: Out On Screen Film and Video Society's Out in Schools Program

Accessible City Award

  • Individual: Trevor Mills
  • Organization: Physical Activity Research Centre (PARC)

Read about the winners

Mayor's Achievement Award winners

  • Individual: Maxine Davis
  • Youth: Jesse Costucci-Phillips
  • Organization: Immigrant Services Society of British Columbia

Read about the winners

Freedom of the City Award winner

  • Mike Harcourt

Read about Mike Harcourt