City of Vancouver Book Award

City of Vancouver Book Award

The annual City of Vancouver Book Award has been recognizing authors of excellence of any genre since 1989. These authors contribute to the appreciation and understanding of Vancouver's diversity, history, unique character, or the achievements of its residents.

The $3,000 prize is funded by our Publishing Reserve, which was established in 1977 as a permanent legacy for Vancouver writers and publishers.

The awards will be presented at an in-person event as part of the 2022 Vancouver Writers Fest  on Friday, October 21.

What's happening2022 Vancouver Book Award winner announced

Karen Duffek, Bill McLennan, and Jordan Wilson have won the Vancouver Book Award for “Where the Power Is: Indigenous Perspectives on Northwest Coast Art,” published by Figure 1 Publishing.

Where the Power Is: Indigenous Perspectives on Northwest Coast Art is a landmark volume that brings together over eighty contemporary Indigenous knowledge holders with extraordinary works of historical Northwest Coast art. First Nations Elders, artists, scholars, and other community members visited the Museum of Anthropology to connect with these objects, learn from the hands of their ancestors, and share their thoughts and insights.

The Book Award winner was announced on October 21 at a ceremony put on by the Vancouver Writer’s Fest, in partnership with the City and Vancouver Public Library, at the NEST.

Learn more about the five books shortlisted for the award

Previous Book Award winners

Previous winners of the City of Vancouver Book Award include Michelle Good for Five Little Indians (2021); Catherine B Clement for Chinatown Through a Wide Lens: The Hidden Photographs of Yucho Chow (2020); Robert Watt and Susan Point for People Among the People: The public art of Susan Point (2019); Chelene Knight for Dear Current Occupant (2018); Carleigh Baker for Bad Endings (2017); and Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun, Karen Duffek, and Tania Willard for Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun: Unceded Territories (2016).

Review more City of Vancouver Book Award winners and finalists from previous years

Get arts and culture news

* Indicates required fields

Contact Cultural Services

Mailing address
Cultural Services
453 West 12th Ave
Vancouver, BC V5Y 1V4