Home > Your Government > Vancouver City Council

Vancouver City Council

Vancouver City Hall

City Council is made up of the Mayor and 10 Councillors who are elected at large for a four-year term. The Mayor is the Chair of City Council.

The City of Vancouver is governed by the Vancouver Charter and has the power to:

  • Pass bylaws regulating such things as businesses, building, noise, and land use
  • Buy and sell property
  • Collect property taxes and other taxes
  • Approve major spending for all parts of the City government
  • Take on debt
  • Allocate funds for special activities, such as arts and community services
  • Set up departments and offices for City services
  • Hire staff for City departments and offices 

Mayor of Vancouver

Mayor Gregor Robertson

Gregor Robertson continues to build upon the accomplishments of his first three years in office: ending street homelessness; addressing housing affordability; improving public transit; making Vancouver the greenest city in the world.

Vancouver City Council

City Councillors

Find contact information and read biographies of City of Vancouver's Councillors: George Affleck; Elizabeth Ball; Adriane Carr; Melissa De Genova; Heather Deal; Kerry Jang; Raymond Louie; Geoff Meggs; Andrea Reimer; Tim Stevenson.

Ask. Tell. Connect.

Phone 3-1-1 to ask, tell, and connect with the City

Outside Vancouver:

Speak your own language

When should you call 9-1-1? Click to find out       Deaf? Have difficulty speaking? Click to learn how to make a TTY call

More ways to contact us

Contact the Mayor and Council as a group


Mayor Gregor RobertsonCity CouncillorsSalaries and expensesCouncil meetings and decisionsCivic honours awarded by City CouncilSearch for Council documents