Downtown Vancouver at sunrise

Areas of the city

Vancouver is made up of a number of smaller neighbourhoods and communities. Neighbourhood boundaries provide a way to break up the city’s large geographical area for delivering services and resources and identify the the distinct culture and character of different areas of our diverse population. However, there is some disagreement on all of the names and boundaries of these areas.

We refer to neighbourhoods as areas and we have divided the city into 22 distinct areas.

From Arbutus to the West End, you can learn more about a particular part of the city.