Heritage awards

Recognizing the special accomplishments, projects, and efforts that have furthered the goal of heritage conservation in the City.

The City of Vancouver Heritage Awards acknowledge the special accomplishments, projects, and efforts which have furthered the goal of heritage conservation in the City.

We hold the Heritage Awards Ceremony every second year in April or May.  The last Heritage Awards Ceremony was held in 2015, we are preparing for the next one to be held in the spring of 2017.  The Call for Nominations is anticipated to be released to the public in November.


There are four types of awards.

  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Honour: Demonstrates an outstanding contribution to heritage conservation
  • Merit: Projects that make an important contribution in whole or in part to heritage conservation
  • Recognition: Acknowledge an accomplishment, project, or effort which contributes to heritage conservation


The awards jury includes three members of the Vancouver Heritage Commission and two members of the public.


  • Projects must have been completed within the last six years.
  • Projects, including advocacy efforts, that have previously received a City of Vancouver Heritage Award are not eligible.
  • The jury reserves the right to not give awards in any of the levels of recognition. 


We accept nominations for accomplishments, projects, and efforts that:

  • Restore, rehabilitate, adaptively re-use, or continually maintain a heritage building or structure, a significant part of its interior, or its characteristic features
  • Use innovative engineering techniques, or restoration and conservation methods, to upgrade a heritage building or structure, which may include seismic upgrading
  • Preserve a heritage landscape or other natural feature
  • Advocate for the preservation of a heritage site or increase public awareness of heritage issues
  • Create publications, education programs, exhibits, or activities that promote heritage conservation
  • Revitalize a community or neighbourhood based on heritage conservation or awareness

Award winners

Discover the people, buildings, and projects that received Heritage Awards for the years:

Current award winnersPrevious award winners