Development Permit Board Advisory Panel

The advisory panel advises the Development Permit Board about the applications that the board is reviewing. The advisory panel:

  • Reviews plans and models of proposed major development.
  • Hears presentations from applicants and other interested parties.
  • Attends all meetings of the Development Permit Board. Panel members may participate in board meetings if they wish.

As advisors to the Development Permit Board, advisory panel members are polled for their opinions but do not vote on the applications before the board.

Terms of reference

The Development Permit Board and Advisory Panel Bylaw establishes the board and its advisory panel, describes their membership, powers, and responsibilities.

Meeting frequency

The advisory panel meets every other Monday at 3:00pm at Vancouver City Hall. Meetings generally end by 10:00pm, although they may run later. Extra meetings are sometimes scheduled.

Time commitment

Several hours of preparation time are needed before each meeting. Advisory panel members may be asked to perform additional work outside regular meeting times.


The advisory panel consists of nine members appointed by City Council. The members include:

  • The chair of the Urban Design Panel
  • The chair of the Vancouver Heritage Commission
  • Two representatives of the development industry
  • One representative of the design professions
  • Four representatives of the general public (one of whom also represents young people in the community)

City Council members or City employees are not appointed to the advisory panel.


Group Represented Representative(s) Alternate(s)
Design professions
  • TBA (Chair, Urban Design Panel)
  • Haizea Aguirre Puértolas
  • TBA (Vice-Chair, Urban Design Panel)
Development industry
  • Hamid Ahmadian
  • Beau Jarvis
Vancouver Heritage Commission
  • Richard Keate
  • Kim Maust 
General public
  • Rebecca Chaster
  • Nicholas Lai
  • Michelle Pollard
  • Richard Wittstock


At any given time, approximately half of the members are appointed for 1-year term and the other half for 2-year terms.

Resources for potential and appointed members

The Procedure Bylaw regulates the procedures of Council and its committees and other bodies.

Procedure Bylaw  (156 kb)

The Code of Conduct Policy sets minimum expectations for the behaviour of Council officials, staff, and advisory body members in carrying out their functions.

Code of Conduct Policy  (145 kb)

Contact the Development Permit Board

Meeting Coordinator

Lidia McLeod
Phone: 604-873-7770