City of Vancouver Book Award

City of Vancouver Book Award

The annual City of Vancouver Book Award has been recognizing authors of excellence of any genre since 1989. These authors contribute to the appreciation and understanding of Vancouver's diversity, history, unique character, or the achievements of its residents.

The $3,000 prize is funded by our Publishing Reserve, which was established in 1977 as a permanent legacy for Vancouver writers and publishers.

The winning book can be of any genre and should demonstrate excellence in content, illustration, design, or format. It will also deepen our understanding of Vancouver, including its place on the traditional, unceded territories of the xʷməθkʷəy̓ əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish), and səlilwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) peoples, and people from across the world who have imbued Vancouver’s cultural landscape with the qualities, landmarks, and stories that make our city recognizable and distinct.

A peer selection committee selects the finalist titles and the winning book from all submissions received. As a step towards integrating cultural equity and accessibility in the assessment process, Cultural Services has adopted policy to exceed 50% representation of people from underrepresented communities in all of its assessment bodies for grants and awards.

Underrepresented communities include ​​​​​​​xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Skwxwú7mesh (Squamish), and səlilwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) and people who identify as Indigenous, Black people and people of African descent, people of colour and racialized people, people with disabilities, disabled people, and people who live with mental health challenges, Deaf and hard of hearing people, LGBTQ2+ and gender diverse people, low-income people, refugees, newcomers, and undocumented people, minority language communities, women and girls, youth, and seniors.

Submit a book for the award

We are now accepting submissions for the 2020 and 2021 Book Award.

Submission deadline is June 18, 2021 at 4pm.

Review the guidelines and apply online

Previous Book Award winners

Previous winners of the City of Vancouver Book Award include Robert D. Watt and Susan A. Point for People Among the People: The Public Art of Susan Point, Chelene Knight for Dear Current Occupant, Carleigh Baker for Bad Endings, and Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun, Karen Duffek and Tania Willard for Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun: Unceded Territories.

See more City of Vancouver Book Award winners and finalists from previous years

Get arts and culture news

* Indicates required fields

Contact Cultural Services

Location address
Cultural Services
Woodward's Heritage Building
501 - 111 West Hastings St
Vancouver, BC V6B 1H4

Mailing address
Cultural Services
453 West 12th Ave
Vancouver, BC V5Y 1V4