Gastown Historic Area Planning Committee

The committee works to preserve and protect the heritage and character of the historic Gastown area.

COVID-19 update: online meetings

We're transitioning to virtual advisory body meetings as an interim response to the health emergency. These meetings will be convened by electronic means as authorized by Ministerial Order No. M139, Local Government Meetings and By-law Process (COVID-19) Order No. 2.

The next meeting will be held on December 16, 2020

Virtual meetings will be held using Cisco WebEx Events. No software download is required, simply use the link below to view the meeting live through your web browser.  

Online meeting password: GHAPC2020

Join the meeting

Join by phone (audio only)

1-855-699-3239 (Canada - toll free)

Access code: 146 157 7695

The link to join a live meeting broadcast is posted 24 hours in advance of the meeting.

Consent - Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy

To view or participate in meetings virtually, I consent to the collection, use, and disclosure of my personal information outside Canada as described below. The City of Vancouver collects your personal information in accordance with section 26(c) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act for purposes of organizing and administering advisory body meetings. For virtual advisory body meetings, your contact information will be shared with the City’s web conferencing provider, Cisco WebEx. Information submitted to WebEx will be stored on servers in the United States and may be accessed in the United States or internationally for technical support purposes. If you have questions about the collection of this information, please contact the director of access to information and privacy by emailing, phoning 3-1-1, or mailing a letter to 453 West 12th Avenue, Vancouver, BC, V5Y 1V4.

Following the meeting, minutes will be posted online and can be found in the ‘Meetings’ tab below.

Terms of reference

The committee works to preserve and protect the heritage and character of the Gastown area (zone HA-2) by:

  • Advising the Director of Planning on matters relating to Gastown
  • Working with all City departments to develop and implement policies and programs that affect Gastown  

Meeting frequency

The committee generally meets on the third Wednesday of each month, except August, at a location in Gastown. Meetings typically start at 4:00pm and run for 3 hours.

Time commitment

Members may also serve on the Design Review Subcommittee or on another issue-related subcommittee, requiring about three additional hours a month. Significant preparation time is required for all meetings.

Attendance requirement

Members may miss no more than four consecutive meetings without obtaining leave of absence from the committee. Membership will be terminated following the fourth such absence.


The Committee consists of 10 members, representing the following groups in Gastown:

  • One community architect representative
  • Two community business representatives
  • One community engineer representative
  • One community heritage representative
  • One community hospitality representative
  • One community resident owner
  • One community resident tenant
  • Two local property owners

Membership of the committee will be inclusive of low income residents.

Members are appointed by City Council for one-year and two-year terms. A newly-elected Council may reappoint members in a one-year term for one additional year. No member may serve more than four years.


Terms expiring December 31, 2020:

  • Mahbod Biazi (Local Property Owner)
  • Sarah Chesterman (Community Resident Tenant)
  • Brady Dunlop (Community Architect)
  • Clarence Lowe (Community Business Representative)
  • Peter Meiszner (Community Resident Owner)
  • Natalie Telewiak (Local Property Owner)
  • Jurian ter Horst (Community Heritage Representative)
  • Vacant (Community Hospitality Representative)
  • Vacant (Community Heritage Representative)
  • Vacant (Community Engineer)


  • City Council: Councillor Colleen Hardwick
  • City Council: Councillor Sarah Kirby-Yung
  • Vancouver School Board: Trustee Janet Fraser
  • Staff: Hugh McLean, Planner

Meetings, agendas, and minutes

Resources for advisory committee members

Contact the Gastown Historic Area Planning Committee

Staff contact
Hugh McLean

Phone: 604-873-7056