First Shaughnessy Advisory Design Panel

The First Shaughnessy Advisory Design Panel advises City Council, the Development Permit Board, and the Director of Planning on development and design issues in First Shaughnessy, with a focus on preserving the special character of this heritage conservation area. 

The advisory design panel also advises the City's Director of Planning concerning the implementation and effectiveness of the approved planning policies, regulations, and design guidelines for the First Shaughnessy District.

Terms of reference

Meeting frequency

Meetings generally take place every three weeks. Additional meetings may be scheduled if needed, based on:

  • Increased volume of development applications
  • Orientation of new members
  • General business
  • Preparation of recommendations

Meetings are generally held in the Town Hall Meeting Room, Main floor, City Hall.

Attendance requirement

Members may miss no more than four consecutive meetings without obtaining leave of absence from the panel. Membership will be terminated following the fourth such absence.


There must be a minimum number of seven members of the panel present to make decisions. This quorum includes:

  • Chair
  • Four resident members
  • One Architectural Institute of BC member
  • One BC Society of Landscape Architects member


The panel consists of 14 members, representing the following groups:

  • Four members Shaughnessy Heights Property Owners' Association
  • Four members-at-large, residents of the First Shaughnessy District
  • Two members, Architectural Institute of BC
  • Two members, BC Society of Landscape Architects
  • One member, Real Estate Board of Greater Vancouver
  • One member, Vancouver Heritage Commission

Members are appointed by City Council for one-year and two-year terms. A newly-elected Council may reappoint members in a one-year term for one additional year. No member may serve more than four years.


Terms expire December 31, 2020:

  • Frank Bailly (Shaughnessy Heights Property Owners' Association)
  • Shawn Blackwell (Architectural Institute of British Columbia)
  • Dwayne Cahill (First Shaughnessy District Resident)
  • Nicole Clement (Shaughnessy Heights Property Owners' Association)
  • Clinton Cuddington (Architectural Institute of British Columbia)
  • Erika Gardner (Shaughnessy Heights Property Owners' Association)
  • Alexa Gonzales (British Columbia Society of Landscape Architects)
  • Dean Gregory (British Columbia Society of Landscape Architects)
  • Vik Khanna (First Shaughnessy District Resident)
  • Diane Kunic-Grandjean (Real Estate Board of Greater Vancouver) 
  • Mollie Massie (Vancouver Heritage Commission Representative)
  • Kathy Reichert (First Shaughnessy District Resident)
  • Richard Sirola (Shaughnessy Heights Property Owners' Association)
  • John Wang (First Shaughnessy District Resident)


  • City Council: Councillor Colleen Hardwick
  • Staff: Susan Chang, Development Planner, 604-871-6199
  • Staff: Kathy Cermeno, Urban Design Assistant, 604-873-7770

Meetings, agendas, and minutes

Resources for advisory committee members

Contact the First Shaughnessy Advisory Design Panel

​Ryan Dinh and Haizea Aguirre​