Vancouver City Planning Commission

The commission advises City Council on planning and development issues in the City, and may report to Council on any proposal likely to have a significant effect on the future of the City.

The commission organizes conferences, consultations, competitions, presentations, and research on topics including housing, public realm, neighbourhoods, transportation, and public engagement.

Terms of reference

The Vancouver City Planning Commission Bylaw establishes the commission, its membership, powers, and duties.

Meeting frequency

The commission generally meets once a month on a Wednesday from 3 to 5 pm. Meetings typically take place in Committee Room No. 1 at 3rd Floor, City Hall, 453 West 12th Ave.

Time commitment

Commissioners should expect to spend 3 to 5 hours a week in meetings and related work. As well, many commission activities occur during weekday daytime hours, so commission members should have a lot of control over their schedule.

Attendance requirement

Members may miss no more than three consecutive meetings or five meetings within a calendar year, without obtaining leave of absence from the Commission. Membership will be terminated following such an absence.


The commission consists of 11 voting members appointed by City Council, and two members appointed by the commission itself. Voting members may not be employees of any of the following:

  • City of Vancouver
  • Park Board
  • School Board

The commission also has four non-voting members from:

  • City Council (2)
  • Park Board (1)
  • School Board (1)

Every member may be reappointed, but no member may serve more than three terms in a row.

Prospective members

Before being appointed, members must have lived in Metro Vancouver (formerly the Greater Vancouver Regional District) for at least 6 months.

Current members

Term ends December 31, 2019: 

  • Veronika Bylicki
  • Robyn Chan
  • Omar Dominguez
  • Albert Huang
  • Alyssa Koehn
  • Alix Krahn
  • Karenn Krangle
  • Jennifer Marshall
  • Robert Matas
  • Dylan Rose
  • Nola-Kate Seymoar

Commission Appointees:

  • Anthony Perl
  • Marnie Tamaki


  • City Council: Councillor Pete Fry
  • Park Board: Commissioner John Irwin
  • School Board: Trustee Janet Fraser
  • Planning Department: Chris Robertson

Meetings, agendas, and minutes

The meetings listed below are open to the public.

Resources for advisory committee members

Contact the commission

 The Commission does not deal with specific planning and zoning or permit related questions or decisions.
For inquiries of this type, please contact 3-1-1.

Executive Director
Yuri Artibise

Phone: 604-873-7477

Committee Clerk
Kathy Bengston

Phone: 604-871-6146